Camera Functions

Focus Mode (Viewfinder Photography)

Focus can be adjusted automatically or manually. The user can also select the focus point for automatic or manual focus or use focus lock to focus and recompose photographs after focusing.


Choose from the following autofocus modes:

AF-S (Single-servo AF)
For stationary subjects. Focus locks when shutterrelease button is pressed halfway. At default settings, shutter can only be released when in-focus indicator () is displayed.

AF-C (Continuous-servo AF)
For moving subjects. Camera focuses continuously while shutter-release button is pressed halfway; if subject moves, camera will engage predictive focus tracking to predict final distance to subject and adjust focus as necessary. At default settings, shutter can be released whether or not subject is in focus.

Manual Focus

Manual focus is available for lenses that do not support autofocus (non-AF NIKKOR lenses) or when the autofocus does not produce the desired results.


Autofocus mode can be selected by pressing the AF-mode button and rotating the main command dial until the desired setting is displayed in the viewfinder and control panel.

1: AF-mode button

Focus Mode (Viewfinder Photography): Related Functions

View information on functions related to Focus Mode (Viewfinder Photography).

More D500 Tips and Tricks